Dr. Y.S.R. Horticultural University, Andhra Pradesh


The University saw its inception by Government of Andhra Pradesh in the West Godavari district and is the second most famous Horticulture University in the state. Andhra Pradesh is largely engrossed into manufacturing of mango, oil palm, chillies, sweet orange, and papaya and is one of the second largest manufacturers of spices and total fruits which indeed require it to increase its produce on the basis of commercialization and horticulture in the state.

The University has three colleges Venkataramanagudem in the West Godavari District, Mojerla in Mahboobnagar and Anantharajupet in Kadapa District. The University offers both UG and PG courses.

Courses Offered

Get Agricultural,Exam Updates through e-mail, by entering your details below.

The Universities offer Horticulture courses both at undergraduate, post graduate and diploma level.
B.Sc. (Hons.) Horticulture

 Horticulture College & Research Institute

i)Andhra University Area:

 Srikakulam, Vizianagaram,Visakhapatnam, East Godavari,

West Godavari, Krishna,

Guntur &  Prakasam Districts.


West Godavari District.

Horticulture College & Research Institute,Anantharajupet

ii)S. V. University Area:

Chittoor, Kadapa,

Nellore, Anantapur &

Kurnool Districts.              1.

Kadapa District.

Total Number of Seats are 147

Fifteen percent of the seats (20) are earmarked for ICAR Quota over and above 134 seats, for the students from other states.


  • Candidates who own the following academic background are eligible to seek admission.
  • Candidate should have completed year Intermediate Examination conducted by the Board of Intermediate Education, Andhra Pradesh or any other examination acknowledged as equivalent thereto by the University or Intermediate Board with any two of the following subjects.
  • Physical Sciences
  • Agricultural Sciences
  • Biological or Natural Sciences
  • Vocational Courses in Agriculture

Criteria for selection

  1. a)       For ICAR, the students are selected on the basis of performance made in the written exam and selection of seats.
  1. b)     Ranks scored by candidates in EAMCET forms other basis of selection. The candidates will be selected based on merit, region, social status and Presidential order
  1. c)   If there happens to be a tie between two or more candidates in the EAMCET, then the ages shall be taken into consideration and the older applicant will be allotted the seat. In case of tie both in the ranks and age, the scored secured in the non-compulsory subjects of the Qualifying examination shall be taken into heed.


  1. a) M.Sc. (Horticulture)

P.G. Programme in M.Sc. (Horticulture), is a  two year program that include specialization in (i) Fruit Science (ii Floriculture & Landscape Architecture  (iii) Vegetable Science and (iv) Spices, Plantation, Medicinal & Aromatic Crops and Ph.D. (Horticulture) is a course of three that is offered at the Horticulture College & Research Institute and College of Horticulture,  Anantharajupet (Kadapa District), Rajendranagar,  Venkataramannagudem (West Godavari District) and  Horticulture College & Research Institute.

Total Number of Students for M.Sc. (Horticulture) with specialization is 26 in Following spheres

  • Vegetable Science
  • Fruit science Spices,
  • Plantation, Medicinal & Aromatic Crops
  • Floriculture & Landscape Architecture
  1. b) Ph.D. (Horticulture)
  • Total number of students who can appear for Ph.D (Horticulture) are 6
  • Total strength of students to be admitted to the course are:-
  • I  year
    (2013 batch) – Only 6 GIRLS
  • II year
    (2012 batch)- Only 4 boys and 1 girl
  • III year
    (2011 batch)- Only 4 girls


Diploma Admissions:

Ø  Two years Diploma in Horticulture

Number  of Students

Ø  Total No. of Seats = 105

Eligibility Criteria

Ø Applicant should have completed X class with overall grade 5.0 (excluding Hindi) for General. For SC and ST grade 4.0 is required (excluding Hindi).

Local Area  

Total Intake

i) Andhra University locations are
Visakhapatnam , Vizianagaram, Srikakulam,


Guntur & Prakasam Districts.

1.   Horticulture Polytechnic,



2.  SKPP Horticulture Polytechnic,

iii) S. V. University locations are
Nantapu, Chittoor, Nellore,

Kadapa, Ar &

Kurnool Districts.

1.     Horticulture Polytechnic,


2.   SSPG Horticulture Polytechnic 25

Facilities and Amenities

The University offers amazing and comfortable facilities and amenities for students. The University is established over an expansive area and has numerous buildings comprising administrative block, colleges of Horticulture, boys’ hostel, girl’s hostel, and international hostel. The stay is made comfortable during the study along with basic facilities.

Fees Structure

The fee structure is 44,000 Rs per semester for each candidate along with other important payments levied.

Other agriculture universities in India

Share This Information

For Latest Updates Please Subscribe our Telegram Channel: Here

1 thought on “Dr. Y.S.R. Horticultural University, Andhra Pradesh”

  1. Good university


Leave a Comment