UPSC IFS Exam Pattern

If you are the one who aspires to join the Indian Forest service, the exam pattern is the most imperative part of the examination which you need to have a clear and wide understanding of.

IFS Examination comprises of three stages of the examination and after cracking all the three stages of the examination candidates are deemed to join the IFS service.

The very first stage of the IFS examination is of Preliminary examination (Objective) which candidates need to crack to be selected for the second stage of the examination the Mains (Written) Examination. And lastly candidates are called for the personality test; who successfully qualify in the Mains Examination.

Preliminary Examination

In the preliminary examination candidates will have to appear in two question papers to solve. There will be two shifts for two question papers of 200 marks each on the same day. The time duration for each of the question papers will be of 2 hours.

There will be negative marking in the IFS preliminary examination of 1/3rd; it means that if any candidate gives wrong answer for three questions the marks of one right question will be neglected.

Mains Examination

In the Main examination of the Indian Forest Service there will be 6 question papers of essay type.

The question papers of the ‘General English’ and ‘General Knowledge’ will be common for all and other 4 question papers will be of the optional subjects which candidates will choose from the provided options.

The question papers of General English and General Knowledge will have the weightage of 300 marks each and the time duration will be of 3 hours for each of the question paper.

Candidates can choose any two subjects from the list of the optional subjects provided by UPSC in the notification. There will be two papers for each optional subject and the question papers of the optional subjects will be of 300 marks each.

Interview/Personality Test

The interview or the personality test will be conducted by the board which UPSC will decide and candidates will be provided the marks from a total of 200 marks as according to their performance.

After qualifying all the stages of the examination candidates are all set to join the Indian Forest Service.

For Latest Updates Please Subscribe our Telegram Channel: Here

Leave a Comment